Blog Post

Reading and Work

Following will be a list of the rest of the books and journals I have read this year. It looks like I will finish the Irish book, which I am tentatively titling Not For the Weather: An Irish Journey. It is a travelogue of a trip my wife and I took to Ireland in October of 2014 for our 20th wedding anniversary. It also includes generous quotes from the reading I’ve been doing about Ireland and from Irish writers I enjoy. And I have an idea for a book I want to write next year but don’t want to describe it just yet.

Meanwhile, I have just stayed up until the wee hours reading Garry Wills’s book Outside Looking In: Adventures of an Observer. Which book has inspired me to get back to my very flagging study of classical Greek and has made me want to read more Wills. In the past I have avoided his books because I did not understand how one could be a Catholic and seemingly jettison half of what the Church teaches; or be a conservative who holds a majority of liberal views. I enjoyed this book so much, however, that I want to at least read his books and listen to him, see what he has to say. I have lately been agreeing with his support of Pope Francis who is trying to save the soul of the Church, to bring Jesus into the Vatican.

Okay, here is the list:

53. Joy Ride: Show People and their Shows, John Lahr

54. NYRB, Summer Issue

55. C.S. Lewis and His Circle, eds. White, Wolfe, Wolfe

56. Show Your Work, Austin Kleon

57. Steal Like an Artist, Austin Leon

58. The Third Man Factor, John Geiger

59. Tao Teh Ching, Wu translation

60. True Love, Thich Nhat Hanh

61. Brown Dog, Jim Harrison

62. Introduction to Zen Buddhism, D.T. Suzuki

63. Kay Boyle: A 20th Century Life in Letters, ed. Spanier

64. NYRB, Fall Books

65. The Mindful Writer, Dinty Moore

66. Zen in English Literature and Oriental Classics, R.H. Blyth

67. The Mountain Poems of Stonehouse, Red Pine

68. Mysticism, Christian and Buddhist, D.T. Suzuki

69. Tao Te Ching, trans. Mitchell

70. The Zen Teaching of Homeless Kodo, Uchiyama, Okumura, Whitehead

71. NYRB, Oct. 8, 2015

72. Taking Jesus at His Word, Addison Hodges Hart

73. Zen and Zen Classics: A Selection, R.H. Blyth, ed. Franck

74. Zen and Zen Classics, Volume One, R.H. Blyth

75. Cave of Tigers, Loori

76. Pure Act: The Uncommon Life of Robert Lax, Michael McGregor

77. Zen and Japanese Culture, Suzuki

78. Circus Days and Nights, Robert Lax, ed. Paul Spaeth

79. Studies in Words, C.S. Lewis

80. The Odyssey, T.E. Lawrence, trans.

81. Love Had a Compass, Lax

82. Poems, Robert Lax, ed. John Beer

83. The Way of the Dreamcatcher: Spirit Lessons with Robert Lax, S.T. Georgiou

84. Outside Looking In: Adventures of an Observer, Garry Wills

85. The Ox-Herder and the Good Shepherd: Finding Christ on the Buddha’s Path, Addison Hodges Hart

Some of these books I have been reading, off and on, for a long time and finally got around to finishing. I had a loose goal of reaching 100 but don’t think I’ll make it. (Unless I read a bunch of picture books!)

“I have always imagined that Paradise will be a kind of library.” Jorge Luis Borges

Leave a Reply

